Are KFC Chips Vegan?-Know More

KFC is a very famous American-based fast-food restaurant chain. The fast-food restaurant chain is not only famous in America but, in many other foreign countries as well. Unfortunately, KFC chips are not vegan. The chips that are offered to the customers are fried in the same oil where the chicken was fried. This prevents the chips from being a pure vegan item at KFC. Interestingly, KFC does offer a vegan meal. The vegan meal from KFC is only a burger and a drink. 

The primary food offered from KFC is non-vegetarian so, expecting pure vegan food could be difficult. Still, the multinational restaurant-chain company provides good quality vegan food items. 

kfc vegan chips

Vegetarian Burger 

Ever since its introduction in the market, there were no vegan items added to the KFC menu. In market research, KFC found out that some people are willing to consume vegan food. This is where KFC introduced the vegan burger very recently in 2020. 

Soon after the vegan burger was released in the market, it gained popularity. The vegan customers started visiting the restaurant chain company to try out the vegan burger. The burger was highly appreciated by the in-store visitors as well. 

The vegan burger was filled with Quorn fillet along with classic crumbs. The burger features 11 different spices that are topped with lettuce, vegan mayo, and in between two buns. With such simple ingredients, the vegan burger became an instant hit in the market. 

Why Chips Are Not Vegan?

Initially, when customers found out that the chips are not vegan they were irritated. Customers protested against this when they found out how the chips were made. Fortunately, the situation was carefully taken care of by the multinational restaurant chain. 

Initially, when customers found out the process of making the chips they were confused. It was the official website that revealed how the vegan fries or chips were made. This made many customers highly disappointed because vegan foods were not vegan at KFC. 

Interestingly, there were other vegan items available at KFC that were not dipped in oil. Some of the vegan food items provided at KFC are Vegan Burger, Beans, and Corns. These food items are not dipped in the same chicken-fried oil and are served to vegan customers. 

KFC’s Plant-Based Nuggets

Recently, KFC became one of the first major fast-food chains to add plant-based chicken to their menu. The plant-based chicken has been introduced by the company quite recently. Interestingly, as by its name, the nuggets are made from plant-based ingredients. 

Before its launch, KFC made a test run in Atlanta and it became quite a successful one. This brand new idea became KFC’s new and improved recipe for vegan customers. Interestingly, during the test run at Atlanta KFC stores, the brand new vegan products were sold out in less than five hours. 

KFC is marketing this strategy as “Beyond Meat”. The CEO revealed that this plant-based chicken looks and tastes exactly like real chicken. KFC then promoted this new product on all social media platforms. Additionally, KFC created a separate advertisement for this unique business strategy. 

Ingredients in KFC Vegan Chicken

Most KFC food items contain many ingredients to make them attractive and tasty. In the same way, plant-based chicken contains many ingredients to serve customers. Some of the basic ingredients for KFC vegan chicken are the following:-

  • 11/2 teaspoon of dried thyme
  • 2-cups of all-purpose flour 
  • 1 teaspoon of dried oregano
  • 11/2 teaspoon of dried basil
  • 1 tablespoon of celery salt
  • 1 tablespoon of black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon of dry mustard powder
  • 4 tablespoon of paprika
  • 1 tablespoon of ground ginger
  • 2 tablespoons of garlic salt
  • 2 tablespoons of sea salt
  • 3 tablespoons of white pepper
  • 1 tablespoon of MSG 

These are some of the main ingredients that are used to make KFC vegan chicken. Other ingredients required for dredging are the following:-

  • 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup unsweetened soy milk and 
  • 3 tablespoons of aquafaba

Vegan Sauces at KFC

Many KFC-lovers have asked does KFC provides vegan sauce along with vegan food items. Yes, the multinational restaurant chain does provide vegan sauces. Interestingly, vegan sauces taste better than non-vegan sauces. 

  • Grape Jelly
  • Strawberry Jam
  • Ketchup Packet
  • Mazetti Light Italian Dressing
  • Summertime BBQ Sauce
  • Lemon Juice Packet
  • Sweet N Tangy Sauce


KFC is one of the best places to visit for a small snack time. Chicken-lovers can surely visit any KFC outlet and have the best time there. But, it is just the opposite when it comes to vegans customers. They have very few vegan options available for vegan customers. It is better to visit other full vegan restaurants to enjoy a full-vegan meal. 

Frequently Asked Questions 

  1. What is the new menu at KFC?

Answer- Beyond Fried Chicken is the new plant-based menu added to the KFC menu. 

  1. What is the best deal to get at KFC?

Answer- The $5 Fill Up is one of the best deals available at KFC. 

  1. Does KFC provide senior discounts?

Answer- Yes, KFC does provide senior discounts. 

Are KFC Chips Vegan?-Know More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top